Activities

Except when we are closed, we provide the following activities all year round.
If you wish, you can also view these in activities in a Activities Calendar.

Hand & Foot (Canasta)

Hand and Foot is a version of Canasta in which each player is dealt two sets of cards, known as the "hand" and the "foot".
Every Monday in Neighborhood Center (Building C).
Facilitator is Amelia Reid.

Schedule: Monday, July 23, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Repeats every week every Monday until Mon Dec 17 2018 except Mon Jan 15 2018, Mon Jan 15 2018, Mon Feb 19 2018, Mon May 28 2018, Mon Sep 03 2018, Mon Oct 08 2018.
Location: Recreation Room (Bldg C)
Social Bridge

Bridge, open to all, play for fun.

Schedule: Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 9:00am to 4:00pm
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue Dec 18 2018.
Location: Game Room
Chef Quentin

Chef Quentin will be available to answer any of your dining questions.

Schedule: Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 1:45pm to 2:45pm
Repeats every month on the fourth Tuesday until Tue Nov 27 2018.
Location: Multi Purpose Dining Hall
Friends of Benson Meeting

Friends of Benson Board of Directors monthly meeting.

Schedule: Wednesday, August 8, 2018 - 10:00am to 12:00pm
Repeats every month on the second Wednesday until Wed Dec 12 2018.
Location: Conference Room A and B
Logo GCOA on peach

North Area Council on Aging Monthly Workshop.

June and July:
Summer Break

August:
How to Slow the Aging Brain?

September:
Learning New Things …

October:
Stress Impact on the Aging Brain

November:
Rest, Exercise, and Brain Games

December:
Holiday Repast

Schedule: Wednesday, August 1, 2018 - 10:30am to 11:30am
Repeats every month on the first Wednesday until Wed Dec 05 2018 except Wed May 02 2018, Wed Jun 06 2018, Wed Jul 04 2018.
Location: Conference Room A and B
Birthday Celebration

We celebrate Birthdays monthly on the 3rd Wednesday of each month.

Schedule: Wednesday, August 15, 2018 - 12:30pm to 1:00pm
Repeats every month on the third Wednesday until Wed Dec 19 2018.
Location: Multi Purpose Dining Hall
Fitness room

This class is required for all new participants in the Fitness Center.
One-hour orientation on how to use various pieces of equipment and how to set up your own personal exercise log.
By appointment only, sign up at the Receptionist Desk.

Schedule:
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Jun 14 2018.
Location: Fitness Center
Open Mic

What’s Happening at Benson?
Join us on the first Wednesday of each month in the Multipurpose Dining Hall.
Ask questions or make suggestions.

In addition, Ms. Nettie Douglass from Watershed Management will join us to assist you with your water billing concerns.

Schedule: Wednesday, August 1, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Repeats every month on the first Wednesday until Wed Dec 05 2018 except Wed Jul 04 2018.
Location: Multi Purpose Dining Hall
Fitness room

This class is required for all new participants in the Fitness Center.
One-hour orientation on how to use various pieces of equipment and how to set up your own personal exercise log.
By appointment only, sign up at the Receptionist Desk.

Schedule: Thursday, July 26, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Sep 13 2018.
Location: Fitness Center
Texas Hold 'em

Texas Hold 'em for all levels.

Schedule: Thursday, July 26, 2018 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Dec 27 2018 except Thu Nov 22 2018.
Location: Conference Room A
Pool stuff

Required for all new participants in the water fitness program. One-hour orientation to learn how to properly use the therapeutic water program.
By appointment only, sign up at the Receptionist Desk.

Schedule:
Repeats every week every Friday until Fri Jun 15 2018.
Location: Pool
Social Bridge

Come play bridge for fun. All Experienced Players are welcome.

Schedule: Friday, July 27, 2018 - 12:00pm to 4:00pm
Repeats every week every Friday until Fri Dec 28 2018 except Fri Nov 23 2018.
Location: Game Room
US Census Univac

For access to a computer.

Schedule:
Repeats every week every Friday until Fri Mar 16 2018.
Location: Computer Lab
Social Bridge

"Scheduled" games only.

Schedule: Friday, July 27, 2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Repeats every week every Friday until Fri Dec 28 2018 except Fri Nov 23 2018.
Location: Multi Purpose Dining Hall

Also see our Disclaimer.